Vegucation, Indieness and Filth

It’s half past January.

Happy new year!

 

2014's last sunset I captured

2014’s last sunset I captured

 

How are you finding 2015 so far?

I’m not sure I have any particular new year’s resolutions, but I do hope this year is even better than last year with more trips, new discoveries and inspiring people.

I keep having new ideas and thoughts in my head about how to do what I most love in a way that doesn’t directly or indirectly damage our planet’s environment, which is what I love anyway = DOUBLE LOVE!

These flying drafts “Wingardium Leviosaing” their way inside my skull may sound like heavy stuff, but they’re more like the colourful balloons allowing dear Mr. Fredricksen‘s home to reach Paradise Falls, and it’s the same thing that’s been happening since before starting this blog, almost 3 years ago.

 

I remember my best friend G, during a classroom debate about who-knows-what, when we were maybe…15? say: “The steps we can take may be small. But look at a lot of small steps put together: they become a big step”.

I have this memory clip of her saying these words saved in my real-life quotes database and it is what, in a way, I like to do in my head, in my life and share with my blog.

Small changes, embracing new knowledge and new habits to reduce the impact on our surroundings. And if people feel inspired…great!

 

On New Year’s Eve I started watching the Vegucated documentary, paused it to make a ton of guacamole and finished watching it on New Year’s Day. Well, I’ve never been so happy to be vegan!

I liked the documentary because it covers a lot of aspects of vegan life in a light-hearted yet serious way: 3 New Yorkers try going vegan for 6 weeks and “learn” how to live choosing non-animal products.

Health plays a big part in it and is covered extensively along with animal rights, intensive farming methods and their environmental impact, vegan clothing, animal and cruelty-free beauty products, vegan food shopping, eating out when you’re vegan…

Needless to say, they are very different by the end of the 6 weeks.

 

So if you’d like to expand your awareness and find out how it went by watching it, this link shows where it’s available (Netflix, iTunes, XBox, for rent on Youtube…).

Or if you want, have a look at Vegucated’s trailer first.

 

As I wrote in my last post about independent businesses, I am more and more aware of what I purchase and where, and in the process I have discovered some really good places.

Some shops encourage and promote small producers and businesses, some choose to only serve vegetarian or vegan food, others pay particular attention to avoiding food waste and running their business in an eco-friendly and fair way. There is a lot to discover and I’ll be sharing about them soon!

 

So, eating less energy-hungry (haha!!…) food, spending more wisely…but also buying less when possible.

I have another swap-trade day lined up for February, it’s the third time this is going to take place to swap and get rid of unwanted stuff and acquiring new things from others. I got so many good books last time! I look forward to the next.

 

"I'm reading Filth!"

“I’m reading Filth!”

 

It’s amazing just how amusing it was to say things like “I was on the tube reading Filth when…”

I also got many other good books from the previous swaps, including A Spot of Bother and Darkly Dreaming Daniel which was read, given to my flatmate, then I took it and now it’s up for grabs for the next set of eyes.

 

Tons of free books

Tons of free books

The swaps are good to pick books you may never read otherwise and learn about new things that can take you to new places – I am currently reading Kurt Cobain’s biography and listening to their music in a completely different way; it was only after a friend gave me her copies of the Millenium trilogy that I became interested in and then actually visited Sweden.

As you can see, (as usual!) I have a lot I want to write about.

So for now, thank you for reading 🙂

 

Had you heard of Vegucated? If you’ve seen it, what did you think of it?

Do you have any Planet wishes for 2015?

Leave a comment, I would love to know what you think!

