Jersey Royals, Crispy Tofu and Travelling Treats

Hello everyone, it’s June!Β How did it get to this month so quickly?!

I’ve been trying lots of new recipes using seasonal vegetables recently, including asparagus, broccoli, Jersey Royal New Potatoes, lettuce, radishes, spinach and spring onion!

I also had a go at making home-made bread for the first time and it was great! πŸ™‚

So this will be, once again, a sustainable, meat free and cruelty free vegan recipes post!

…Let’s start!

 

Spinach, round lettuce, radishes, caramelised spring onion and shallot salad

Spinach, round lettuce, radishes, caramelised spring onion and shallot salad + potatoes and beans

This was a super lovely salad made by simply combining seasonal fresh UK spinach, UK round lettuce, sliced radishes and I also added caramelised spring onions and shallots (which aren’t really in season anymore but were reduced to clear so I saved them from the bin).

I caramelised the spring onions and shallots by cooking them for about 8 minutes on a low heat and adding balsamic vinegar at the end, they were so tasty and delicious!

I had the salad with a bowl of new potatoes with chopped tomatoes and cannellini beans, seasoned with chilli and garnished with fresh parsley, also in season.

I made the roll in the picture, it was with sun-dried tomatoes and herbs πŸ™‚

 

Home made sun dried tomato and herbs rolls

Home made sun-dried tomato and herbs rolls

 

Home Made Wholemeal Loaf

Home Made Wholemeal Loaf

I also finally made asparagus, I’ve been waiting all year for them to be in season again as there is so much emphasis on eating asparagus as fresh as possible to enjoy their flavour at the very best.

 

Herefordshire Asparagus

Herefordshire Asparagus

I was confused  because this packet of asparagus from Herefordshire was 3 times more expensive than asparagus flown in from Italy 😦 fortunately today I got some more and it was £1 for a bunch and from nearby Kent.

We had it griddled for a few minutes with salt and freshly cracked pepper and a few sun-dried tomatoes, plus another home-made roll dipped in extra virgin oil, so simple and DELICIOUS!!

 

Herefordshire asparagus with sun dried tomatoes and a home made roll :)

Herefordshire asparagus with sun-dried tomatoes and a home-made roll πŸ™‚

Another lovely seasonal vegetable we have had are Jersey Royal New Potatoes. I think there is a lot of buzz for both Jersey Royals and asparagus because they are both British vegetables which are really loved and which have relatively short seasonal availability.

Jersey Royals have been grown on the British island of Jersey, just off the North – West coast of France, for 130 years.

The have a lovely firm and waxy texture, with a delicate nutty flavour. I got more today, they are bubbling away as I type, and they were half price, Β£2 for a Kg in Morrisons.

As I hadn’t made them before, I went to the Jersey Royals website and tried their chilli and lime recipe, it was lovely.

  • I brought a large pan of salted water to the boil, added the potatoes and simmered them for about 12 minutes, drained them and added them to a pan where I had heated some chilli flakes in some olive oil, lime juice and rind for about 2 minutes and heated it all through. I garnished them with fresh parsley.
Jersey Royals New Potatoes with chilli and lime

Jersey Royals New Potatoes with chilli and lime

 

And last but not least, I have tried a really excellent recipe which uses spring onions and tofu.

I got the inspiration from the Crisp tofu with ginger and chili from the BBC Good Food website.

It’s so tasty and fragrant, I took some to work and my colleagues were asking what I smelt so appetising.

I tweaked the recipe a bit: the original one uses 2cm of oil to deep fry the tofu but I just used a couple of table spoons of oil on a high heat and it worked really well.

I served this with rice noodles as they just need soaking in water from a kettle for a few minutes, perfect for a conveniently speedy tasty healthy meal!

Ingredients – serves 2

  • 1 Pack of tofu (about 450g) drained and cut into cubes
  • Flour for dusting
  • Sunflower or rapeseed oil
  • A large piece of fresh ginger, finely chopped
  • A fresh red chilli, sliced or a pinch of chilli flakes
  • 2 Shallots cut into thin rings or a medium red onion finely sliced
  • 5 Spring onions, sliced
  • 2 Tbsp black, red or white rice vinegar or ordinary malt vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 Tbsp mirin (I actually didn’t have it so didn’t use it)
  • Steamed rice or rice noodles to serve

-Dust the tofu in the flour, I did this in a tupperware box

-Fry the tofu until crispy and lift it out of the pan.

-Add the ginger, chilli, shallot or red onion and spring onions and stir fry rapidly, the add the rice vinegar (or ordinary vinegar), sesame oil and mirin and serve on top of the tofu with the rice or rice noodles.

 

Crispy tofu with chilli, ginger and spring onions

Crispy tofu with chilli, ginger and spring onions

Enjoy! πŸ˜€

 

We are about to go on a 2-week holiday to Florida so I found some nice vegan treats for the journey, I got chocolate and raspberry cereal bars from Morrisons which happen to be vegan and high in fibre, sunflower seeds and oats Ryvitas and Bear Yo Yos!

Vegan Snacks: Cereal Bars, Ryvitas and Fruit Bear Yo Yos

Vegan Snacks: Cereal Bars, Ryvitas and Fruit Bear Yo Yos

I have seen these Bear Yo YosΒ before but never tried them, I wanted something handy to carry and healthy for the journey and they seem perfect! They are pure fruit rolls, and 1 of your 5 a day! They look great for children too.

I got the raspberry ones and they contain apples, pears, raspberries, sweet potato extract and “no added nonsense”.

They are 69p at Holland and Barret’s but you can get them cheaper supermarkets’ multipacks as well.

 

Have you tried any new recipes using seasonal ingredients?

What snacks and food do you choose when travelling?

5 thoughts on “Jersey Royals, Crispy Tofu and Travelling Treats

  1. Hi πŸ™‚ Wow, Florida sounds so cool for a holiday! Those chili and lime potatoes are pretty inspiring too. Yet again, your blog has made me hungry for dinner at breakfast time! And I’ve already had breakfast even! I must make bread sometime too. It always scares me that it will be too complicated – the yeast and such – which is a bit silly, since I used to have to make it once in a restaurant, so I should really know it is doable. Those rolls look delicious. Happy holiday!

    Like

    • Good morning to you! πŸ˜€
      Yes, a completely new destination for this holiday! Never been to the U.S. at all, have you?
      Haha thank you πŸ™‚ I had those spuds with lime and chilli tonight too πŸ™‚
      I thought making bread would be harder but it turned out ok, it has made me realise it can be a lot nicer than shop bought bread so I will be making some again!
      Thank you!! πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. *bravo poulette de maman……………..ton pain a l’air d’etre extra bon ! **quand puis-je t’appeler ?

    * * xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx *

    Like

  3. Pingback: Being Vegan on Holiday in Florida | GreenTrails&TeapotTales

  4. Pingback: Organic September and Chinese-Style French Beans | GreenTrails&TeapotTales

Leave a comment, I would love to know what you think!

