Tasty, Crispy, Crunchy Home Made Granola – Vegan

Granola! I never really had it before I actually made it but it’s loooovely.

It’s super versatile too, as you can have it as a snack on its own, with milk or yogurt πŸ™‚

I had a look online for recipe inspiration and found Nigella Lawson’s Granola recipeΒ – which she got from Andy Fairfield – very appealing, especially because almost all of the ingredients were sort of cupboard staples.

I slightly changed the ratio of the ingredients as I simply didn’t have enough almonds and so added more mixed seeds instead, but I actually prefer it like this or it would have been too super-crunchy-almondy. You could also used sliced or crushed almonds rather than whole ones.
Also,Β Nigella’s recipe only uses sunflower and sesame seeds but I used pumpkin seeds too.

Her recipe uses honey so it’s not vegan, I also used some as my friend gave me some special honey from Taiwan and I was looking forward to trying it, but you could substitute it with extra brown rice or golden syrup for a 100% vegan granola.

If you are curious to know just how sustainable honey is, if you wonder if local or organic honey may be better, Friends of the Earth’s Honey Ethical Guide will have the answers you are looking for.

As usual to make it more sustainable try to use local, organic and Fairtrade ingredients whenever possible. πŸ™‚

What I love about it is that it’s a simple assembly recipe where you just mix, bake and that is it! It would probably be great to make this as a fun activity with children as there are lots of ingredients to mix together πŸ™‚ I also think this recipe could be halved to make less granola if you prefer, and adjust the ingredients as you wish.

I had it with soy yogurt and it’s a delicious light breakfast or dessert, a great addition to my vegan breakfasts post.

For my version I used:

Ingredients to make a massive Tupperware box full of lovely granola (2.5 litres):

  • 450g Porridge oats
  • 270g of mixed seeds (sesame, pumpkin, sunflower)
  • 120g Extra sesame seeds
  • 175g Apple sauce
  • 2 Tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 Tsp mixed spices
  • 120g golden syrup or brown rice syrup
  • 4 Tbsp runny honey or extra syrup to make it vegan
  • 100g soft brown sugar
  • 100g Almonds
  • 1 Tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp sunflower oil
  • 300g Raisins to add after baking

-Mix everything except the raisins in a very big bowl (don’t be silly like me and pile everything in a medium bowl)

Bowl Overload Granola Mix

Bowl Overload Granola Mix

-Mix everything really well, especially as soft sugar can be lumpy and sticky, and spread the mix onto a large baking tray or 2 smaller ones and bake in the oven at 170C for about 45 minutes or until golden, turning it over halfway through to make sure it bakes evenly in lovely crunchy chunks.

-Allow to cool and mix the raisins with the golden chunks, store it in an airtight container and enjoy!

Golden Granola

Golden Granola

Home Made Granola with Soy Yogurt (and forgotten raisins!)

Home Made Granola with Soy Yogurt (and forgotten raisins!)

Have you made granola before?

What would you have it with?

3 thoughts on “Tasty, Crispy, Crunchy Home Made Granola – Vegan

  1. Pingback: Tasty and Sustainable Vegan Breakfasts | GreenTrails&TeapotTales

Leave a comment, I would love to know what you think!

