In Season: Shallots, Purple Kale and Brussels Sprouts

Hello again 🙂 so just to continue with the “vegetables in season in February” as mentioned in yesterday’s post, I wanted to  share a new combo of vegetables I tried last week after looking up the Eat the Seasons website.

I chose parsnips, turnips, leeks and swede for my soup and also bought shallots, Brussels sprouts and purple kale.

Purple Kale, Brussels Sprouts and Shallots

Purple Kale, Brussels Sprouts and Shallots

 

Many people associate Brussels sprouts with Christmas dinner and forget about them after that, but they are so lovely and cute that they deserve to be eaten more!

Brussels sprouts have anticancer properties and when they are steamed or stir fried -rather than boiled to death as many other poor vegetables for Sunday or Christmas dinners – they do not acquire that bitter taste that may put some people off.

A few weeks ago a kind colleague asked if any of us wanted some Brussels sprouts as she had so much delivered in her organic veg box that she was actually getting a little sick of them. I asked if I could have some, including the stalks, to try to use everything up.

…Unfortunately I didn’t manage to use the stalk, not even for my stone soup, because it’s as strong as steel.

I’m sure they could use Brussels sprouts stalks for scaffolding like they do with bamboo in Hong Kong.

I looked up several forums and blogs to find tips on how to use them and someone had even suggested running the stalks over with the car to make them easier to compost. 😐 So I sort of left it.

I did however make the Brussels sprouts straight away and they were delicious!!

-After washing them and taking the outer leaves off, I simply cut them in half, cooked them in a pan with a little extra virgin olive oil on a medium-high heat to char them a bit, then added a splash of water to the pan, put a lid on it and let them steam on a medium heat until soft but still retaining a firm texture.

A little seasoning and voila’! Deliciously sustainable and vegan.

 

Charred and Steamed Brussels Sprouts with Vegan Sausages and Tomato Relish

Charred and Steamed Brussels Sprouts with Vegan Sausages and Tomato Relish

 

I also bought purple kale as it is in season and I have read many blog posts about how wonderful kale is, with many people having it in super healthy smoothies. I had never tried it before and I never realised how beautiful it looks…

Pretty Purple Kale

Pretty Purple Kale

Kale also has anticancer properties as well as beta carotene, Vitamin K and C, calcium and more loveliness!

I looked up a couple of recipes that used kale and then decided to keep it really quick and simple.

-I chopped 2 shallots and cooked them in a little extra virgin olive oil until soft, added the Brussels sprouts cut in half as mentioned earlier and once they were charred I added the bunch of kale, cut in smaller pieces, and some water to steam it all for a few minutes.

I served it with lightly fried chili tofu for another sustainable vegan meal 🙂

Vegetables in Season and Tofu

Vegetables in Season and Tofu

Using the Eat the Seasons website was fun as it encouraged me to try something new, in season, cheaper and grown locally. I tried purple kale and thought “it’s so healthy that sod’s law: it must taste pretty awful” but it was actually really nice and I will have as much of it as possible while it’s in season.

 

How do you choose the vegetables you buy? Do you think of what is in season?

Have you even managed to use Brussels sprouts stalks for something?

6 thoughts on “In Season: Shallots, Purple Kale and Brussels Sprouts

  1. Hi 🙂 you cracked me up with the bit about building with brussels sprouts stalks. I like winter veges. And stone soup.

    Like

Leave a comment, I would love to know what you think!

