TPS Induction and Low-Fat Burgers with Coriander & Lime Houmous

Yesterday morning I went back to The People’s Supermarket, TPS, to have my induction.

I went to have my induction as I am going to do a shift there next Saturday to see how the supermarket works and then write more about what I think may be the most sustainable supermarket ever.

I previously wrote about going there and talking to one of the managers about the renovations that TPS was going to have after its partnership with Spar and it now looks great!

If you would like to know more about becoming a member of The People’s Supermarket, it’s incredibly easy to book yourself into an induction: all you have to do is e-mail membership@thepeoplessupermarket.org and choose  one of the induction times, they take place on Thursdays at 7pm, Fridays at 10.30am or Saturdays at 11am.

The induction was really interesting and went really quickly, I had a cup of tea and munched on one of their delicious (and gigantic!) fresh croissants while Tara explained the origins of TPS and explained members’ roles.

As a member of TPS you actually own part of the business and have a say in everything that goes on within it and all changes have to be approved through voting by the majority of members, and all new ideas have a chance to be put into actions and come to life as new projects, such as The People’s Supermarket Cookbook: isn’t that motivating?

After the induction I bought a few items and had 20% as I had had the induction that morning, members get 20% off all the time.

Sustainable Items from The People’s Supermarket

I bought a massive jar of organic roasted peppers, perfect in salads, for £3.60 -20% = £2.88

I also bought some organic English plain wholemeal flour, believe it or not I have been looking for plain wholemeal flour for a long time and couldn’t find it any Tesco, Sainsbury’s or Morrison’s, that was £.1.50 – 20% = £1.20 for 1kg.

I also got lovely fresh rolls, organic tofu and free range eggs from Devon.

~

To carry on with my meat-free sustainable BBQ food mood, last night I made low-fat Quorn burgers with home-made coriander and lime houmous, a twist on my vegan sausages baguette with houmous.

Quorn burgers are of course meat-free and have a really nice smokey flavour, I bought mine frozen and my meat-eater boyfriend really like them too 🙂

Quorn Burgers, tastyyyyy

Compared to Quorn fillets they have more ingredients and could be considered a bit more processed, but when I think of the fact that supermarket bought beef can contain dozens of cows’ meat all minced up together ( I heard this during an episode of Jimmy and the Giant Supermarket when he analysed beef meat balls’s DNA) and plenty of animal fat, I don’t even worry about Quorn burgers’ extra ingredients (such as wheat protein, natural flavourings and milk proteins).

The packet says that Quorn burgers have 60% less fat that standard frozen beef burgers and each burger contains 80 kcal and 3.7g fat, 1.3g saturated fat.

My version of the home-made houmous is low-fat as I didn’t have any tahini to add and also did not add any oil. I got the inspiration for this recipe from the Inspired to Share blog I follow.

Low fat Quorn burgers with home-made low-fat coriander & lime houmous

Ingredients for the houmous:

  • Bunch of fresh coriander, about 1/3 or 1/2 a cup
  • 2 jalapeño peppers (or more or less to taste), roughly chopped
  • 1 peeled clove of garlic
  • 3 tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • 1 can of chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • Black pepper

-Add everything to a blender and whizz until smooth enough. Done! 🙂

It’s the first time I made houmous and it was so quick and easy! I’ll try experimenting with other ingredients and flavours next time!

For the burgers:

  • Quorn burgers, I had 2
  • Fresh wholemeal rolls
  • Dollops of the home-made low-fat coriander and lime houmous
  • fresh iceberg lettuce, torn
  • Cherry tomatoes, halved
  • Ketchup or any other sauce you fancy!

-Cook the Quorn burgers – I made mine in the microwave, from frozen to ready to eat in 2 and half minutes!

-Cut the rolls, spread a lovely dollop of the houmous and pile the burgers, lettuce, tomatoes and ketchup / spicy sauce etc.

Enjoy!

Low fat coriander and lime houmous, Quorn burgers and soft cocktail

You can use up the rest of the houmous as a healthy, light, vegan dip with fresh carrots, cucumber or peppers or use it as a tasty fragrant spread in sandwiches.

To go with the meal I made a soft cocktail that is a little inspired by mojito, I mixed Bottle Green ginger and lemongrass cordial to water and added lime wedges, torn mint leaves and ice. Absolutely delicious and super refreshing, try this and you won’t feel sorry for yourself when you can’t drink alcohol for whatever reason!

Ginger & Lemongrass cordial, fresh with a kick

Would you like to know more about The People’s Supermarket?

Have you tried meat-free burgers before? What do you think of them?

8 thoughts on “TPS Induction and Low-Fat Burgers with Coriander & Lime Houmous

  1. They sound nice, although I have a deep-running prejudice against ‘alternative meat products’. My mum was/is vegetarian and used to cook us protoveg a lot as as kids and we gagged on the stuff. I often wonder if it is still sold, had improved, or whether it was the way she cooked it…! I’ve startef a wee alternative food blog, not recipes as such, more about food stories so if you get a chance to look I’d love to know what you think…
    http://themushypea.wordpress.com/
    thanks!

    Like

  2. I love the sound of the supermarket!! Keep us updated with how you get on.

    I used to live off mock meat products for years, until very recently when I did my gluten free challenge. I think nearly all (well certainly everything at my Tesco) the meat free ranges have gluten in them so I had to stick with tofu. I haven’t gone back, to be honest. I’m enjoying making my own veggie burgers instead 🙂 x

    Like

    • I will indeed, thank you so much! 🙂
      I am still trying to find my ideal tofu recipe, I tried lightly frying some the other day and it was really nice, I think I will definitely start having tofu more and keep meat alternatives as easy compromise options when making things for meat eaters who dislike tofu! haha 🙂 x

      Like

  3. Pingback: Seeds for Breakfast, Little Packs for Snacks – Vegan Day 4 | GreenTrails&TeapotTales

Leave a comment, I would love to know what you think!

