Earth Day and Eating Your Way to Sustainability

Happy Sunday lovely readers, how are you? Happy Earth Day!

Today is Earth Day 2012, a day dedicated to increase awareness and respect for our planet’s natural environment.

The first Earth Day was back in 1970 (the first Glastonbury festival took place in 1970 too!) and it’s now celebrated in more than 175 countries every year on 22nd April.

Did you know there’s an Earth Day Anthem too? More info can be found on the Wikipedia Earth Day page.

If you have read my first post you know how I started my blog with a 1-month vegan challenge, as eating vegan is the best way to reduce you food’s carbon footprint and eat something that requires a lot less energy and water to be produced.

So if you’d like to eat your way to sustainability, try to eat less or no meat, eat less animal products such as dairy and eggs and try not to waste any food.

Love Food Hate Waste is a fantastic website where you can find innumerable lovely recipes that help you use up your leftovers, save money and protect the environment.

Wasting food (and wasting things in general) breaks my heart so I always try to use all our ingredients up before they go off.

When I made my aubergine vegan curry the other day I had some leftover, so I added some fresh spinach, chopped tomatoes and it made a lovely fresh, healthy vegan pasta sauce:

Leftover aubergines and spinach pasta

Are you doing anything for Earth Day?

How do you try to avoid food waste?

Leave a comment, I would love to know what you think!

