My Salad Valentine – Vegan Day 8

Day 8 of my vegan challenge!

The first week is already over and I’m getting used to looking out for new vegan snacks and ingredients, I must say I have eaten far more vegetables and beans than usual the past week! All good so far!

Valentine’s day is few hours away, so I thought I’d show you my lunch for tomorrow: a lovely fresh vegan salad that -accidentally- contains a few vegan aphrodisiac ingredients.

This salad is fresh, appetising and has a variety of textures: the fresh feeling lettuce, tomatoes and spring onion, crunchy carrots and pumpkin seeds, salty olives, the kick of the chilli, the flavoursome sun-dried tomatoes…

Vegan Carroty Salad

Vegan Carroty Salad

Ingredients:

  • Lettuce leaves
  • 1 carrot
  • a few cherry tomatoes
  • 1 spring onion
  • a small handful of pumpkin seeds
  • a small handful of olives
  • 2 pieces of sun-dried tomatoes
  • chilli flakes (optional)
  • a dollop of houmous

First of all I washed  afew leaves of lettuce and tore the leaves by hand;

Scrub the carrot and chop it, by scrubbing it with a vegetable scrubber I know it’s clean and I don’t need to peel it and I can have the extra fibre;

Cut the cherry tomatoes in half;

Chop the spring onion;

Sprinkle the pumpkin seeds;

Add the sun-dried tomatoes;

Add the olives -without any brine- and chilli if you are using it;

Add a dollop of houmous, I used red roasted pepper houmous from Sainsbury’s, delicious!

I actually use the houmous as a sort of a dressing. When I first thought of this I couldn’t believe how lovely it was, so tasty! And if you’re being careful with what you eat, it’s a lot healthier that ordinary dressings.

Mix all together…Enjoy!!

Can’t wait for lunch!

For a filling lunch I am going to have an onion bagel with it, they’re so nice and I bought some cinnamon and raisins ones for a nice change from porridge for my vegan breakfast, exciting!!

What kind of salads do you like having for lunch?

Have you tried hummus as a healthy vegan salad dressing?

One thought on “My Salad Valentine – Vegan Day 8

  1. Pingback: Crunchy, Seedy, Tasty, Healthy « GreenTrails&TeapotTales

Leave a comment, I would love to know what you think!

