Vegan Day 6: Saturday Night Feast

Today was day 6 of my vegan pledge and I must admit I am a little bored of my porridge breakfast…which is why this morning I had toast with extra virgin olive oil on it! I know, a bit odd but it was a very worthy buttery spread substitute.

I fancied something nice for my dinner too, so after whizzing around the supermarket with a granny trolley my boyfriend and I came back home with re-used bags full of vegan and non-vegan goodies.

Oh, the excitement filling the fridge can bring! πŸ˜€

We had a starter fit for a vegan king:

Starter Feast

We had the Chevda I told you about in the previous post, we bought some chilli and lemon crunchy corn nuts to give them a try, they tasted very corny and the lemon and chilli and other spices make them very moreish!

We also had vegetable spring rolls and vegetable samosas, all vegan treats, super tasty and filling! We dipped them in “Trees Can’t Dance” sweet chili sauce.

Even though I was nearly full I carried on cooking my mash, also planned for tonight, but with a twist: potato and parsnip Mediterranean mash!

Parsnips are such a tasty root vegetable and they are in season right now, so if you are lucky enough to be in a country where they are sold, – my mum loves them but unfortunately they are not sold in Italy – now is the best time to have them.

Check out “also in season” and the “interactive season wheel”, if you would like to know more about which vegetables and fruit are in season.

Vegan Mediterranean mash ingredients for 4:

  • 6 small potatoes
  • 2 medium parsnips
  • 4 sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1 tsp mixed herbs
  • salt&pepper
  • extra virgin olive oil (optional)

I started off making my Mediterranean winter mash by cutting up about 6 small potatoes and 2 parsnips (I don’t peel them to keep the goodness);

(I cut them in small pieces to reduce cooking time and also reduce use of energy)

Add water and leave it all to simmer for around 12 minutes or until both the potatoes and the parsnips are tender when you test them with a knife;

Drain the potatoes and parsnips and crush with a masher or a fork;

Add 4 sun-dried tomatoes (chop them first if you prefer them in small pieces, I like the burst of flavours from bigger pieces);

Add 1 tsp mixed herbs and extra virgin olive oil if you would like a silkier finish.

Mediterranean Winter Mash

Season to taste with salt and white or black pepper.

Enjoy by itself or with vegetables fingers for a cosy childhood-friendly vegan meal.

Mediterranean Mash and Fingers

I have many cooking books and articles that I will go through to look for eco-recipes, so expect more to come!

I leave you with a song from Lana Del Rey, whose voice and lyrics I like very much.

Leave a comment, I would love to know what you think!

