My Greenpeace poster has arrived! + Kidney Bean Soup

I have been receiving Greenpeace newsletters for a couple of years now, signing petitions to stop arctic drilling and the deforestation of Indonesian forests to name a couple. A few weeks ago I filled out an online survey and now the poster they promised me has finally arrived!

Greenpeace Polar bear

“Greenpeace stands for positive change through action: the independence and global reach to defend nature and promote peace.”

Today was day 3 of my vegan pledge and I made a lovely bean soup for dinner and my omnivorous boyfriend liked it too!

It is a simple, quick and very tasty recipe which uses cupboard staples and is inspired by a vegan cookbook I borrowed from the library.

Kidney Bean Soup

Ingredients:

  • a 400g tin of red kidney beans
  • a 400g tin of chopped tomatoes
  • a carrot, chopped
  • chili flakes (to taste)
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • pinch of paprika
  • vegan stock cube
  • 1 litre hot water from the kettle
  • coriander to garnish

-Heat the oil in a saucepan and add the onion, cook for about 5 minutes or until soft on a medium heat.

-Add the garlic, carrot, chili flakes, cumin and paprika. Cook for another 2 minutes.

-Add the beans, a litre of water from the kettle, the vegan stock cube, the tomatoes and the thyme.

-Cover and simmer for about 15 minutes. Garnish with coriander if you want and serve with tortillas. Enjoy!

I have also prepared my lunch tomorrow: a simple but tasty sweetcorn and tomato salad.

Assembling this salad is super quick, all you need is:

  • Tinned sweetcorn
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Sun-dried tomatoes
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Mixed herbs
  • Chili sauce

What’s your favourite salad?

4 thoughts on “My Greenpeace poster has arrived! + Kidney Bean Soup

Leave a comment, I would love to know what you think!

